PHENIX Decadal R&D Workshops - December 2010

From PHENIX, an experiment at RHIC at BNL
Jump to: navigation, search

PHENIX Decadal R&D Workshops - December 2010

  • December 14-16, 2010 - RACF/ITD Seminar Room (next to M2-40 at top of stairs in bldg 515)
  • We will start at 8:30 am BNL time each morning
  • EVO remote access will be available (EVO info)

Registration Issues for BNL Visitors


Purpose: To begin exploring the most promising technologies to support the PHENIX upgrades plans for the next decade, as outlined in the recently completed PHENIX Decadal Plan, PHENIX Decadal Plan


Calorimetry - Tuesday Dec. 14, 2010

  • Conveners: Craig Woody (woody@bnl.gov), Edward Kistenev (kistenev@bnl.gov)


Tracking - Wednesday Dec. 15, 2010

  • Conveners: Tom Hemmick (hemmick@skipper.physics.sunysb.edu), Rachid Nouicer (rachid.nouicer@bnl.gov)


PID - Thursday Dec. 16, 2010

  • Conveners: Mickey Chiu (chiu@bnl.gov), Elke Aschenauer (elke@rcf2.rhic.bnl.gov)


(please post all linked files on open web pages so all participants can view them)


The charge to the three groups will include:

  • A representative from each group will present at the January collaboration meeting.
  • Out of each group should come one or more R&D proposals that should be submitted to Mike Leitch and Ed O'brien to obtain RHIC R&D funding on a timescale of late January to early February - more details to follow.


  • Agenda's for each day will include an "open-mike" session, probably just before lunch, that will allow last-minute topics to be presented by anyone; albeit with slides posted at least a little ahead of time to enable remote participation.
  • Conveners (or delegates) will bring "back-of-the-envelope" estimates to the workshop to catalyze discussion of what will work and what might not, e.g.,
  • Conveners should also develop lists of key questions that we should try to discuss and address at the workshops (e.g. see the draft questions I've sent out before and those sent by Mickey recently)
  • Conveners will collect (straw man) physics-based performance requirements, including those already written down in the Decadal Plan, and will extend those to areas not yet covered. These will serve as a basis for discussion and as a metric for detector performance at the workshops.


Mike Leitch's slides on Decadal R&D from November, 2010 PHENIX Detector Council meeting: pdf pptx



Mike Leitch, PHENIX Deputy Operations Director for Upgrades (leitch@bnl.gov)